What is Enhanced Security Mode?
The enhanced security mode protects the sensitive data stored in the Plesk database.
This feature was implemented in Plesk 11 and it is enabled by default.
Note: If you upgrade from an earlier Plesk version, we recommend you to enable the enhanced security mode after upgrading. Enabling the enhanced security mode cannot be undone.
Enabling the enhanced security mode results in the following changes:
All passwords stored in the Plesk database are encrypted using the Plesk secret key. This way, even if a third party obtains a dump of the Plesk database, your customers are not compromised.
Sensitive data (for example, user passwords) cannot be retrieved using the Plesk API.
Password recovery emails no longer contain the password in plaintext. A link to the password reset form is sent instead.
More information can be found in Plesk Administrator's Guide .