Does Plesk have a Recycle Bin in File Manager?

Follow

Comments

9 comments

  • Avatar
    Holger Schramm

    Be careful, because the trashbin has no retention time for deleting the files automatically. you have to this by hand.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Michael Neubert

    The recycle bin seems to be turned on by default now:

    So in case you suddenly run out of disk space on your server, this could be one "new" reason.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Glenn

    This feature really needs a retention time feature otherwise the server will just fill up.

    If I disable the trashbin in Panel.ini, will the files within trash also be removed?

    Thx
    G

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Holger Schramm (Edited )

    Glenn: No. You have to delete the files manually.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Glenn

    Any plans to add plesk admin capability to limit how long files are kept in trashbin?

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Julian Bonpland Mignaquy (Edited )

    Hi Glenn, the feature you are requesting is already in progress with ID PPP-54200. It will be most likely implemented in version 18.0.39. You can monitor this website https://docs.plesk.com/release-notes/obsidian/change-log/.

    As a workaround, this could be resolved with a cron job.

    1. Log into Plesk

    2. Go to Tools & Settings > Scheduled Tasks > Add Task

    3. In the Command field, put the full path to the script to be executed.
      # find /var/www/vhosts/* -maxdepth 1 -type d -name ".trash" | xargs -i find {} -type f -mtime +1 | xargs -i rm {}
    4. In the Run field, set the the task execution time.
    5. In the System user field, leave user as root or choose another system user to run the task
    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Glenn

    Awesome. Thanks for the update Julian.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Michel vd Lingen

    Very annoying feature. Customer's account gets disabled because of overusage. So we re-enable it, then the customer's account goes offline again.
    Reason? Files are in the stupid thrash can.

    Please make this a default disabled feature instead. So people who want to use it, can enable this crap instead of being enabled by default. We now have to make changes to over 200 servers by hand because of this "great" feature! Very, very annoying.

    You increase pricing, because of these kind of new features, however the whole Plesk experience is going down. So disable this crrap feature by default.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Michel vd Lingen

    So we had our first server customer who crashed his server (Oops... Something went wrong) thanks to this trash can function!
    He deleted a big amount of GB's, then he restored files from a back-up and the server was 100% full and crashed.

    Excellent function.... Not!

    Next time when you add such "fantastic" functions, make them disabled by default! Let the provider (or customer) decide if he wants to enable it! And not force it enabled instead! We are already paying top price for Plesk, but we do not want this nonsense. Thank you kindly.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Have more questions? Submit a request